You are here:

Minister White nominates BAI Chair and Board Members

Dublin, 2 December 2014

The Minister for Communications, Energy and Natural Resources, Alex White, TD, today secured Government approval for the appointment of four new members of the Broadcasting Authority of Ireland and one reappointment to the authority.

On the Minister's nomination, Pauric Travers was appointed as Chairperson for a period of 3 years. He will serve alongside three newly appointed Ministerial nominees; Alan McDonnell, Claire Duignan, and Grace Smith, each with a 5 year term of office. Michelle McShortall has been reappointed for a period of 3 years.

Four existing board members, nominated by the Joint Oireachtas Committee, remain in place until their terms expire in February 2015.

Minister White said the Authority members came from a variety of backgrounds, with experience across a range of competencies and experiences. He said he is confident that the new Board will lead the BAI in regulating, shaping and supporting the broadcasting environment so that broadcasting reflects Ireland's diverse and democratic nature.

Minister White also took the opportunity to express his gratitude to the Chair and outgoing members of the BAI Board for the work done under the term of their stewardship.



Note to Editors

Biographies of new appointees to the BAI Board

Dr Pauric Travers (Chair)

Dr Pauric Travers is a graduate of University College Dublin and the Australian National University, Canberra. An eminent historian and educationalist, he is President Emeritus of St Patrick's College, Drumcondra, having completed 13 years as President/CEO. Dr Travers has wide experience as a member of various boards and statutory bodies in the educational and cultural field. He has served as a director of the Central Applications Office and as a member of the Teaching Council. He was a member of the Governing Authority of Dublin City University for 14 years. He was a founding director of the Centre for Cross Border Studies in Armagh and of the Standing Committee on Teacher Education, North and South. He has lectured and published on aspects of the conflict in Northern Ireland.

As an educationalist, Dr Travers has been closely involved in the promotion of blended learning and digital technologies in teaching. He played a leading role in the establishment of TEACHNET, the on-line community for teachers, and served as its chair for many years. He has a long standing interest in the educational and historical dimensions of broadcasting.

Mr Alan McDonnell

Alan McDonnell is managing director of Empeira Consultants, a business consultancy specialising in corporate governance and strategy. He holds a Diploma in Corporate Governance from UCD and a Diploma in Company Direction from the Institute of Directors.

Ms Claire Duignan

Claire Duignan is an independent Director and Consultant, and a key influencer in the growth of the Irish independent film and television production sector. She is a regular contributor to industry and public debate on Irish media, broadcasting, audio-visual policy, the arts and gender equality issues. She is a board member of the Digital Hub Development Agency, Business to Arts, the Jameson Dublin International Film Festival, and Women for Election. She was previously Managing Director of Radio at RTÉ

Ms Grace Smith

Grace Smith is a highly experienced legal professional with over 20 years practice as an international lawyer in a large legal practice. She is an independent consultant working with commercial, public and not for profit organisations in the intellectual property area in Ireland and for international clients. She is a member of the board of the Gate Theatre.

Ms Michelle McShortall

Michelle McShortall is an honours graduate of Languages and Education from University College Dublin and the Université de Haute Bretagne. For over 20 years, she has been involved in technology based learning. She is currently Chief Learning Architect with Intuition, a knowledge services company that helps clients grow and share knowledge across their organisation.

BAI Board Membership at 2 December 2014

MemberFirst AppointedTerm-End Date
Dr Pauric Travers (Chair)02/12/2014 01/12/2017
Mr Alan McDonnell02/12/201401/12/2019
Ms Claire Duignan02/12/201401/12/2019
Ms Grace Smith02/12/201401/12/2019
Ms Michelle McShortall*01/10/200901/12/2017
Mr Larry Bass16/02/201016/02/2015
Ms Siobhan Ni Ghadhra16/02/201016/02/2015
Professor Colum Kenny16/02/201016/02/2015
Mr Michael Moriarty16/02/201016/02/2015

*Reappointed on 2 December 2014 for a period of 3 years


Press Release Documents