You are here:

Energy Act 2016

Energy Act 2016

Image of statue of justice

The Energy Act 2016 (No. 12 of 2016) was signed by the President on the 30th of July 2016.  The Energy Act 2016 provides for various amendments of the Electricity Regulation Act 1999, the Gas Act 1976, the NORA Act 2007 and the Sustainable Energy Act 2002 and the Registration of Title Act 1964.

Its most significant aspects provide for:

  • The renaming of the Commission For Energy Regulation (CER) as the Commission for Regulation of Utilities (CRU),
  • A wider definition of the existing Single Electricity Market (SEM), to facilitate the North/South regulators' integrated Single Electricity Market, or I-SEM, project,
  • Enhanced enforcement powers for the Commission for Energy Regulation, including powers to impose administrative sanctions,
  • Increases in existing penalty levels on conviction from those already in the 2014 REMIT Statutory Instrument which relate to market abuse offences in the wholesale electricity and gas markets pursuant to the requirements of the EU's REMIT Regulation,
  • Amendment of existing legislation in respect of appointments to the Board of the Sustainable Energy Authority,
  • Increased flexibility in the administration of the Biofuels Obligations Scheme by the National Oil Reserves Agency,
  • Publication of an energy strategy statement by the Commission for Energy Regulation

 A copy of the Act can be downloaded from the Irish Statue Book website at the following link:



Legislation Documents