You are here:

Minister Naughten appoints new Chair of National Dialogue on Climate Action Advisory Group

The Minister for Communications, Climate Action and Environment, Denis Naughten T.D., has announced the appointment of Ms Elaine Nevin as Chairperson of the National Dialogue on Climate Action Advisory Group.  Ms. Nevin has been the National Director of ECO-UNESCO Ireland since 2002.  She has overseen the development and growth of ECO-UNESCO as one of Ireland's lead organisations in environmental education, sustainable development and environmental youth work.


Minister Naughten said: "I am extremely pleased to announce that Ms Elaine Nevin has agreed to my invitation to accept the role as Chair of the National Dialogue on Climate Action Advisory Group. Elaine brings many years of experience in public engagement on environmental issues, particularly with young people, to her new role. I am confident she will make a significant contribution to ensuring the Advisory Group provides the best possible advice on the implementation of the National Dialogue."


Ms Nevin commented: "I am delighted to accept the role of Chairperson of the Advisory Group to the National Dialogue on Climate Action. The Dialogue represents a significant opportunity to engage with society on how best we can work together to address the defining challenge of our generation. I look forward to working with the Advisory Group to ensure the success of the Dialogue."


Notes to Editors


National Dialogue on Climate Action

The Minister for Communication, Climate Action and Environment announced earlier this year that the Government was establishing a National Dialogue on Climate Action. This is in line with the commitment set out in the Programme for a Partnership Government. In a subsequent announcement, alongside the publication of the National Mitigation Plan on 19 July last, the Minister announced the establishment of an Advisory Group to provide him with advice in relation to the overall strategy, structure and operation of the National Dialogue. 


The primary objective of the National Dialogue will be to ensure an inclusive process of engagement and consensus building across society towards enabling the transformation to a low carbon and climate-resilient future. To do this, the Dialogue will seek to create awareness, engagement and motivation to act (locally, regionally and nationally) in relation to the challenges presented by climate change and to establish, on a long term basis, appropriate networks for people to meet periodically to consider evidence-based inputs on the economic, social, behavioural, environmental and public aspects of climate and energy policy. 


National Dialogue initiatives already announced for 2017 include the Green Schools National Climate Change Action and Awareness Programme, incorporating Climate Action Week between 16 and 20 October and the Green Schools Climate Expo on 22 February 2018, and the Climate Ambassador Programme which was formally launched earlier this month. 


Members of the National Dialogue on climate Action Advisory Group 


Elaine Nevin - Chair 


Ciarán Hayes (County and City Management Association)

Conor Minogue (IBEC)

Adrian Kane (ICTU)

Thomas Ryan (IFA)

Frank Maughan (DCCAE)

Rory O'Donnell (National Economic and Social Council)

Cara Augustenborg (Environmental Scientist and Communications Expert)

Michael Ewing (Environmental Pillar)

Lorna Gold (Head of Policy and Advocacy, Trócaire)

Edmund Grace (People Talk)

Seán McDonagh (Ecologist)

Brigid McManus (Retired Secretary General – Department of Education and Skills)

Ryan Meade (Public Policy Adviser)

Paul Melia (Environment Journalist)


Press Release Documents