You are here:

Minister White nominates ESB Chair and Board Member

alex white

The Minister for Communications, Energy & Natural Resources, Mr. Alex White, TD, today obtained Government approval for the appointment of two members to the Board of ESB.

On the Minister's nomination, Ms. Ellvena Graham will be appointed as Chairperson. Ms. Graham has been a non-executive member of the Board since 2010 and has been acting Chairperson since the retirement of the former Chairperson in January. She will become the first ever woman chair of the ESB.

Minister White also intends to appoint Mr. Andrew Hastings as a Ministerial nominee to the Board.

Minister White said "I am delighted to appoint Ms. Graham as Chairperson of the ESB. I believe that under her stewardship the ESB will continue to successfully deliver on its strategic mandate."

Minister White said the new appointees were people of high calibre who had been selected following a competitive selection process run on Minister White said "I am confident that both appointees will contribute to the continued success of the ESB group of companies which plays an important role in the Irish energy market, from generation through to retail energy supply."


Notes to Editors

Background on Selection Process

Following a selection process which was undertaken in accordance with the "Guidelines for appointments to State Boards" which were published by the Government in November 2014, the Government has approved the appointment by Minister White of two members to the Board of ESB.

The position of ESB Chairperson and Board Member were advertised on on 6 March 2015 and 9 March 2015 respectively. Expressions of interest were invited from applicants with, inter alia, the following skills and experience deemed necessary to join the board of ESB.

· Experience in governance, legal, financial, technical and relevant utility sectors.

· Financial and/or accounting experience at a senior level in large complex organisations or companies in the energy or equivalent utility sector.

· Knowledge of debt capital markets.

· Experience of managing risk in a large, complex commercial environment.

57 individual applications were received, on foot of which a shortlisting process was conducted.

Arrangements will be made in due course for Ms. Graham to appear before the Joint Oireachtas Committee on Transport and Communications in line with revised Government procedures for proposed Chairpersons to State Boards.

Short biographies of chairperson and proposed new appointees

Ellvena Graham

Ms. Graham has been employed by Ulster Bank for over 30 years, with her most recent Executive positions including Chief Operating Officer, Managing Director SME Banking and Head of Ulster Bank Northern Ireland. She is also currently the Senior Independent Non-Executive Director on the Board of Electricity Supply Board (ESB).

Andrew Stewart Hastings

Mr. Hastings retired from the CEO position at Barclays Bank Ireland plc in March 2015 to focus upon non-executive roles and other interests outside of banking. He is a Fellow of the Institute of Banking and a Chartered Director. Prior to his role at Barclays, which included responsibility for Northern Ireland, Mr. Hastings was CEO of BNP Paribas Ireland from 2007 to 2011.

ESB Board Membership at 14 July 2015

MemberPositionDate first appointed
Ms. Ellvena GrahamChairpersonJuly 2015*
Mr. Pat O'DohertyCEOJanuary 2013
Mr. Andrew HastingsBoard MemberJuly 2015
Ms. Noreen WrightBoard MemberJune 2011
Ms. Noreen O'KellyBoard MemberApril 2013
Mr. Seamus MallonBoard MemberMay 2011
Ms. Anne ButlerBoard MemberNovember 2012
Mr. Peter O'SullivanElected Employee MemberJanuary 2015
Mr. Tony MerrimanElected Employee MemberJanuary 2015
Mr. Dave ByrneElected Employee MemberJanuary 2015
Mr. Sean KellyElected Employee MemberJanuary 2015

* Ms. Graham served as Board Member since October 2010

Press Release Documents