You are here:

Minister Naughten announces two appointments to Board of the ESB


Dublin, 5th October, 2016


The Minister for Communications, Climate Action & Environment, Denis Naughten, TD, has obtained Government approval for the appointment of Mr. Alf Smiddy and Mr Paul Lynam to the Board of ESB for a period of five years.  The appointments are effective from 4th October 2016.


Minister Naughten said "I am pleased to announce the appointment of Mr. Smiddy and Mr. Lynam to the Board of the ESB. I believe these appointments will ensure that the ESB group of companies has access to key expertise and competence, in an organisation that plays an important role in the Irish energy market.




Note to Editors:

Mr. Smiddy (BComm, FCA, MMII, MSc)  is a chartered accountant by profession, having worked with PricewaterhouseCoopers, and subsequently in leadership roles in the Irish and international hospitality, food and beverage sector for over 20 years. He was Chairman and Managing Director of Cork headquartered Beamish & Crawford Plc for over twelve years, and on the board of its parent company, Scottish & Newcastle (UK) Ltd (a FTSE 100 company) until the takeover of the Group in 2008. He is currently on the Board as Senior Independent Non-Executive Director of The Dalata Hotel Group Plc - the largest hotel group in Ireland. He was previously on the board of Cork Airport.


Mr. Lynam is an experienced CEO with roles in senior finance, sales and general management in blue chip multinational organisations in different countries. He was the CEO, Chairman and Director of Siemens Limited Ireland between 2010 and 2015 and Chief Financial Officer and Director in Siemens between 2008 and 2010.


Appointment Process

Under section 2(4) of the Electricity (Supply) Act 1927, members of the ESB are appointed by Government. Appointments are restricted to a period not exceeding five years. On the expiration of a term on the Board, a member is eligible for re-appointment if the Government so decides.


The two positions were vacant since July 2015 when Ms. Ellvena Graham was appointed Chair and May 2016 when Mr. Seamus Mallon's second term of office expired.


The Department of Public Expenditure and Reform Guidelines on Appointments to State Boards adopted in accordance with Government Decision S180/20/10/1617 of 30 September 2014 have been fully implemented in respect of the two appointments.


Press Release Documents