You are here:

Minister McHugh announces appointment to Inland Fisheries Ireland Board


Dublin, 25 March 2015

Minister of State at the Department of Communications, Energy and Natural Resources, Joe McHugh TD, announced today that the Government had noted the decision to appoint Dr Frances Lucy to the Board of Inland Fisheries Ireland for a period of five years. This appointment was made having regard to advice received from the Joint Oireachtas Committee (JOC) on Transport and Communications in accordance with Sections 12 (1) (b) and 12 (3) of the Inland Fisheries Act, 2010.

In welcoming the appointment of Dr Lucy, Minister of State McHugh said “Dr Lucy brings a wealth of experience and expertise to the Board of Inland Fisheries Ireland, particularly in the areas of fisheries conservation and aquatic invasive species research. I wish Dr Lucy well in her role as a board member”

This appointment will mean that all ten Inland Fisheries Ireland board positions are now filled.

Notes to Editors

Dr Frances Lucy is a lecturer in Environmental Science in the Institute of Technology, Sligo (1992 to present), lecturing on water quality, freshwater ecology, invasive species, fisheries management and conservation management. Dr Lucy previously served on the Board of Inland Fisheries Ireland from 1 July 2010 to 30 June 2013.

Inland Fisheries Ireland Board Members at 24 March 2015

IFI Board MembersAppointment DateExpiry Date
Brendan O’Mahony (Chairperson)1 July 201030 June 2015
Lal Faherty1 July 201030 June 2015
John Geary3 November 20102 November 2015
Marcus MacMahon17 November 201016 November 2015
Peter John Nally10 September 20139 September 2018
Fintan Gorman10 September 20139 September 2018
Martin McEnroe25 February 201424 February 2019
Niall Greene1 July 201430 June 2019
Frances Lucy24 March 201523 March 2020
Ciaran Byrne
(Chief Executive)
Ex-officio member of the Board
1 July 2010

Press Release Documents