You are here:

Minister White appoints two members to Board of EirGrid

Dublin, 6 August 2015


Minister for Communications, Energy & Natural Resources, Mr Alex White, TD, has obtained Government approval for the appointment of Michael Hand and Gerry Walsh to the Board of Eirgrid plc.


EirGrid is the electricity Transmission System Operator in Ireland, and its subsidiary company, SONI (System Operator, Northern Ireland), is the Transmission System Operator in Northern Ireland. EirGrid also owns and operates the East-West Interconnector with the UK.


Minister White said: "I am very pleased that Michael and Gerry have accepted my invitation to serve as members of the Board of EirGrid. Both candidates bring a wealth of experience in senior leadership roles in large organisations and in complex planning and development. I have every confidence that they will provide drive and vision in delivering a sustainable transmission system that supports both economic and social needs."


The appointments were made using a Public Appointments Service (PAS) selection process, in accordance with the "Guidelines for Appointments to State Boards",  which were published by the Government in November 2014.




Notes to Editors


Short biographies of new appointees



Michael Hand

Michael Hand is Chief Executive of the Grangegorman Development Agency having previously served as Managing Director of WYG Engineering (Ireland) Ltd. Mr Hand has experience in planning and development of complex projects as well as stakeholder engagement at a senior level.


Gerry Walsh

Gerry Walsh has served as Chief Executive of Bord Gais Eireann (BGE), as well as Director of Mutual Energy Northern Ireland. Mr Walsh has extensive Board experience as well as an understanding of the issues in relation to the development and upgrading of existing infrastructure and the build out of new infrastructure.


EirGrid Board Membership July 2015 (prior to new appointments announced today)


NameDate of AppointmentExpiry of Term
Joan Smyth*16 Jun 200915 Jun 2019
Richard Sterling*16 Jun 200915 Jun 2019
Gary Healy15 Sep 201114 Sep 2016
Liam O'Halloran15 Sep 201114 Sep 2016
Bride Rosney15 Sep 201114 Sep 2016
Doireann Barry22 Dec 201121 Dec 2016
Fintan Slye17 Jul 201330 Sep 2019
John O'Connor12 Nov 201311 Nov 2018

*Reappointed on 16 June 2014




Press Release Documents