You are here:

Appointment of New ComReg Commissioners expected by Autumn

​July 18 2018

Minister Denis Naughten T.D., Minister for Communications, Climate Action and Environment announced today that the process of conducting a recruitment campaign to appoint two new ComReg Commissioners will get underway this week.  The process will be carried out by the Public Appointments Service.


The two new Commissioners are expected to be appointed following the completion of the recruitment process in the Autumn, and will join Mr. Jeremy Godfrey who will be reappointed for a second term as Commissioner, commencing in September 2018.  The Minister said he looks forward to continued engagement with the independent Regulator on the wide range of issues that affect the sector.


In paying tribute to the outgoing Commissioners, Mr. Gerry Fahy and Mr. Kevin O'Brien, the Minister acknowledged their significant contribution to the regulation of electronic communications in Ireland and said that continued strong leadership was key to ensuring effective regulation of such an important economic sector. 


Note For Editors:


ComReg is the independent statutory body responsible for the regulation of the electronic communications sector (telecommunications, radio communications, broadcasting transmission and premium rate services) and the postal sector.


Press Release Documents