In September 2015, UN Member States adopted the 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development ("Transforming our World"). The 2030 Agenda is a plan of action for people, planet and prosperity and applies to both developed and developing countries.

The centre piece of the 2030 Agenda is the 17 Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs). The 17 SDGs, reflect  economic, social and environmental dimensions of sustainable development.

The Goals cover policy areas such as:

  • ending poverty
  • economic development
  • protection of the environment
  • access to health and education services
  • gender equality
  • peaceful societies
  • human rights 

Each Goal includes a number of sub-targets, with 169 targets in total.

The 2030 Agenda builds on the Millennium Development Goals , the 2012 Rio+20 UN Conference on Sustainable Development, and the UN Financing for Development process. The agreement of the2030  Agenda  and the Paris Agreement on Climate Change,marked 2015 as a landmark year in international cooperation towards achieving sustainable development. 

Ireland was at the centre of the intergovernmental negotiations for the 2030 Agenda and the 17 Goals. Our then Ambassador to the UN Mr David Donoghue and  the Kenyan Ambassador Macharia Kamau were appointed co-facilitators of the final phase of intergovernmental negotiations. More information on the SDGs can be found on the official UN sustainable development webpage.

SDG Interdepartmental Working Group

The latest meeting of the Interdepartmental Working Group took place on 11th December 2019.


Please follow the links below to see the Minutes of the Interdepartmental Working Group meetings:

Minutes 11 December 2019

Minutes 10 October 2019