You are here:

Aarhus Convention

The Aarhus Convention is based on three principles, or pillars namely:

  • Access to Information
  • Public Participation in Decision-making
  • Access to Justice in Environmental Matters

It lays down a set of basic rules to promote the involvement of citizens in environmental matters and improve enforcement of environmental law. ​​​