You are here:

Energy Bill 2016

Energy Bill 2016

The Energy Bill 2016 was published on the 18th of January 2016. It was signed into law by the President on the 30th of July 2016.

You can follow the Bill's progression to enactment as the Energy Act 2016 (No,12 of 2016) on the following Oireachtas webpage:  Houses of Oireachtas website.

A pdf of the Energy Act 2016 is also available on the Irish Statue Book Website at the following link:


The Energy Act 2016 updates a number of provisions in existing energy legislation so that the legislation is more robust.

Its most significant aspects provide for:

  • The renaming of the Commission For Energy Regulation (CER) as the Commission for Regulation of Utilities (CRU),
  • A wider definition of the existing Single Electricity Market (SEM), to facilitate the North/South regulators' integrated Single Electricity Market, or I-SEM, project,
  • Enhanced enforcement powers for the Commission for Energy Regulation, including powers to impose administrative sanctions,
  • Increases existing penalty levels on conviction from those already in the 2014 REMIT Statutory Instrument which relate to market abuse offences in the wholesale electricity and gas markets pursuant to the requirements of the EU's REMIT Regulation,
  • Amendment of existing legislation in respect of appointments to the Board of the Sustainable Energy Authority,
  • Increased flexibility in the administration of the Biofuels Obligations Scheme by the National Oil Reserves Agency,
  • Publication of an energy strategy statement by the Commission for Energy Regulation

Legislation Documents